133 boats took part in a race around the Isle of Wight on Saturday, marking the return to competitive racing at the Royal Ocean Racing Club (RORC) – the first since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Mike Bartholomew’s Tokoloshe II took the double win for Monohull Line Honours and the race overall after IRC Time Correction. Tokoloshe II topped the podium for IRC One ahead of 2 other FAST40+ yachts – RORC Vice Commodore James Neville racing INO XXX and Ed Fishwick’s Redshift.

David Bartholomew commented:

Article continues below this advertisement

“We got a good start and made The Needles in good shape, staying inshore required a lot of gybes, and flat water definitely helped. It was a quick race for us, I think our fastest is about five hours and that was with a crew of ten. So, to get around in five hours and thirty minutes, with just six crew, was a great effort.”

Multihull Line Honours went to PowerPlay. MOD70 PowerPlay was skippered by Ned Collier Wakefield, with Peter Cunningham on the tiller, this boat also did the double. Taking Multihull Line Honours and the win after MOCRA time correction. James Holder’s Dazcat Slinky Malinki was second and Al Wood’s Dragonfly was third in the MOCRA Class.

Peter Cunningham commented:

“I have been in quarantine for 14 days, so that was a release. That is the first time I have raced around the island. The sun was shining, a beautiful day, a great boat, top crew and a fun race. This was a fantastic way to come out of quarantine. We plan to do more RORC racing during August and September.”

Other Class Winners included ; Giovanni Belgrano’s Whooper which was also second overall; Ross Applebey’s Scarlet Oyster, Jim Driver’s Chilli Pepper and Richard Palmer’s Jangada. However, the real race winners were the NHS and the Scaramouche Sailing Trust, with over £5000 (all entry fees) going to these causes.

Article continues below this advertisement

Over 40 yachts raced with just 2 crew in IRC Two-handed. Richard Palmer racing JPK 10.10 Jangada, with Jeremy Waitt, won the contest. Nigel de Quervain Colley’s Sun Fast 3300 Fastrack XII was second with Jeffrey Knapman’s MG335 Virago third. An electrical failure onboard Fastrack XII certainly hampered the team but Jangada scored a notable victory over Fastrak XII, sailed by Olympic hopeful Henry Bomby and Double Olympic Gold medallist, Shirley Robertson OBE who is based in Cowes.

The views/opinions expressed in these comments are solely those of the author and do not represent those of Island Echo. House rules on commenting must be followed at all times.
Football Betting Site Betway

Join our daily newsletter

News, Traffic & Travel Tweets