With the upcoming Hundred cricket tournament on the horizon, we thought we would take a sneak peek at the championship, which will be hitting our TV screens very soon. The contest hopes to inspire the next generation of young cricketers – getting them out of their bedrooms, playing games or creating game reviews on TikTok, and out into the open and on the cricket field. Hopefully, the Isle of Wight will be no different. We want to try and find players who can emulate some of the great Isle of Wight cricketers of the past.

Howard Phillips

Howard William Phillips played first-class cricket in England. Phillips was a right-handed batter. In the 1889 County Championship, Phillips made his first-class debut for Hampshire against Leicestershire. Phillips played five first-class matches for Hampshire between 1899 and 1902, with his final first-class game against Kent in the 1902 County Championship.

Article continues below this advertisement

Phillips relocated to South Africa shortly after. He joined Border and made his provincial debut against Transvaal. Phillips played in twelve first-class matches for Border. In 1913, Phillips made his final appearance for the province against the visiting Marylebone Cricket Club. Phillips batted 223 times for Border, averaging 11.15 runs per game, with a high of 47. Phillips scored 267 runs at an average of 9.51 in 267 first-class appearances, with a high score of 47 for Border serving as his highest first-class performance.

Hamilton Smith

Hamilton Augustus Haigh Smith was another cricketer from England. Smith batted right-handed and bowled leg break googlies. Smith made his first-class debut for Hampshire against Somerset in the 1909 County Championship. Moore played 27 matches for Hampshire between 1909 and 1914, with his final first-class outing coming against Yorkshire in 1914. Moore scored 327 runs at an average of 10.54 in 27 first-class matches, with a top score of 43*. Smith took 14 wickets at an average of 41.00 with the ball, and his best results were 3/95. In 1909 and 1911, Smith travelled to Ireland with Hampshire, and played three non-first-class matches against Woodbrook Club and Dublin University.

What is the Hundred, and how will it inspire the next Howard Phillips or Hamilton Smith?

Article continues below this advertisement

The English Cricket Board (ECB) was the one that first proposed T20 cricket, ultimately leading to the first edition of the T20 World Cup being held in 2007. However, India, the tournament’s first-ever global winners, raced away with the format and made it their own. As a result, the Indian Premier League, which begins again next year, has quickly risen to become the world’s most popular T20 league. After much deliberation, the ECB agreed to allow Ben Stokes and Chris Woakes to participate in the spectacle in 2017. Since then, the floodgates have opened.

With cricket already losing ground to rugby and football in the United Kingdom, and with the sport on the decline, the ECB has devised a new format to pique the public’s interest, particularly the young. Every match in The Hundred will include 100 balls in each innings, hence the name. It’s now time for the big reveal after two years of planning, promotion, and millions of pounds invested in the project.

The team with the highest points total after the group games advances directly to the final, where they will face the winner of the semi-final between the second and third-ranked teams. The league is expected to attract some of the biggest stars in the globe. Andre Russell, Aaron Finch, Chris Lynn, Steve Smith, Rashid Khan, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Williamson, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Mohammad Amir, Shaheen Afridi, Shadab Khan, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Imran Tahir, Mohammad Nabi, Sunil Narine and Mitchell Santner are among the big overseas names who will undoubtedly make an impact.

The confirmed squads are as follows:

Article continues below this advertisement

Trent Rockets – Rashid Khan, D’Arcy Short, Lewis Gregory, Alex Hales, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Harry Gurney, Steven Mullaney, Matthew Carter, Luke Wood, Tom Moores, Dawid Malan, Ben Cox, Luke Fletcher, Luke Wright, Joe Root.

Southern Brave – Jofra Archer, Chris Jordan, James Vince, Andre Russell, Shadab Khan, Tymal Mills, Ross Whiteley, Delray Rawlins, Ollie Pope, George Garton, Alex Davies, Max Waller, Craig Overton.

Northern Superchargers – Ben Stokes, Adil Rashid, David Willey, Aaron Finch, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Chris Lynn, Adam Lyth, Richard Gleeson, Ben Foakes, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, David Wiese, Nathan Rimmington, Brydon Carse, Ed Barnard, John Simpson.

Welsh Fire – Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Colin Ingram, Mitchell Starc, Steve Smith, Ben Duckett, Ravi Rampaul, Simon Harmer, Qais Ahmed, Liam Plunkett, Ryan ten Doeschate, David Payne, Ryan Higgins, Danny Briggs, Leus du Plooy.

Oval Invincibles – Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Jason Roy, Sunil Narine, Sam Billings, Sandeep Lamichhane, Rilee Rossouw, Reece Topley, Hardus Viljoen, Fabian Allen, Alex Blake, Will Jacks, Chris Wood, Nathan Sowter, Laurie Evans.

Manchester Originals – Jos Buttler, Saqib Mahmood, Matt Parkinson, Imran Tahir, Dane Vilas, Phil Salt, Tom Abell, Daniel Christian, Wayne Madsen, Wayne Parnell, Mitchell Santner, Joe Clarke, Marchant de Lange, Ed Pollock, Eddie Byrom.

London Spirit – Rory Burns, Dan Lawrence, Eoin Morgan, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammad Nabi, Mohammad Amir, Roelof van der Merwe, Mark Wood, Joe Denly, Dan Lawrence, Mason Crane, Kyle Abbott, Adam Rossington, Zak Crawley, Jade Dernbach, Luis Reece.

Birmingham Phoenix – Chris Woakes, Moeen Ali, Pat Brown, Liam Livingston, Kane Williamson, Ravi Bopara, Benny Howell, Tom Helm, Shaheen Afridi, Adam Hose, Cameron Delport, Henry Brookes, Adam Zampa, Riki Wessels, Chris Cooke.

The views/opinions expressed in these comments are solely those of the author and do not represent those of Island Echo. House rules on commenting must be followed at all times.
Football Betting Site Betway

Join our daily newsletter

News, Traffic & Travel Tweets