IOWCC AtherfieldIsle of Wight Car Club regular Ryan Munt took the unsealed surface championship with ease at the weekend as the final loose surface round visited Northwood Showground on Sunday.

The sun eventually started to shine down on the Cowes event after competitors tackled the first two runs on a wet and slippery grass surface.

First to set the pace was John Dutch posting a time of 66:24 seconds, closely followed by Wayne Hole with a time of 68:53 seconds and then Steve Brett with a time of 69:60 seconds. Run 2 saw Andy Williams posting a blistering time of 60:94 seconds, boosting the challenge for all.

Article continues below this advertisement

By Run 3 the track grip was getting much better and the times were coming down fast – Darren Taylor and Dan Morgan setting a new equal joint fastest time of 57:01 seconds with John Dutch close behind on a 58:17 seconds.

Taking the championship crown after a successful 2013 season, Ryan Munt came from nowhere later in the day to set a new fastest time of 53:83 seconds in his 4WD Subaru, followed by James Robbins with a 55:14 seconds.

Run 6 was the final chance for everyone to get their fastest time and knock Ryan off the top of the leaderboard. Chris Wilson got close with a 53:55 sec, Darren Taylor with a 54:23 sec, Wayne Hole 54:46 sec, Brian Robbins 54:65 sec and John Dutch 54:71 seconds.

For more information see the Club Website

Photo shows Andy Williams.

Article continues below this advertisement

The views/opinions expressed in these comments are solely those of the author and do not represent those of Island Echo. House rules on commenting must be followed at all times. data-matched-content-ui-type="image_card_stacked"

News, Traffic & Travel Tweets