Bowls Sport

The Isle of Wight Indoor Bowls Club’s Ladies A and B teams each played their 2nd round games in this season’s Mason Trophy last week.

Both teams got through to the next round to be played on the 6th December.

There were wins for both rinks in the B team match against East Dorset giving a 20 shot success. The home four of Phyl Fredericks, Barbara Moye, Ann Hoath and Sue Green took command early in the match and led throughout to record a comfortable 22 shots to 13 win over M. Mapes’ quartet.

Article continues below this advertisement

The four playing away – Trish McMurray, Jane Kilby, Carol Jones and Shirley Stubbs – also dominated from the outset and ran out easy 21 shots to 10 victors against C. Clarke’s rink.  In the 2nd round they play Bournemouth A.

The A team were involved in a much closer match against Bournemouth B.  There was little between the 2 teams and with each rink having 3 ends to play the opponents led by 1 shot overall. On the penultimate end the quartet of Gay Allen, Shirley Searle, Moira Stevens and Pauline Proud, who had led from the start against M. Bunford’s four, scored a 5 to turn the match their team’s way.  They recorded a 23 shots to 12 success.

Playing away from home the rink of Annie Morris, Steff Ball, Barbara Sleap and Maggie Cawley trailed from the start against K. Priestley’s four. With only 3 ends remaining they faced a deficit of 16 shots to 5. Winning the last 3 ends and scoring 5 shots in the process reduced the deficit to only 6 shots and played a vital part in the team’s progress in to the 3rd round where They will play Dolphin.

The club also hosted Bembridge last week in the annual match for the Friendly Trophy in memory of Geoff Laker. It was the visitors who took the Trophy for the second successive year, winning on 5 of the 6 rinks. 

The sole home winners were the quartet of Alison Maundrell, Jeff Henshaw, John Ince and John Hutchinson who finished 22 shots to 13 ahead. Angie West, Janet Ince, Barbara Sleap and John Carrett went down by 25 shots to 17.  There was a 29 shots to 15 defeat for Malcolm Addison, John Rich, Barbara Moye and Roy Jemson.

Article continues below this advertisement

Bob Stubbs, Shirley Stubbs, Philip Oland and Barry Rodwell enjoyed a 15 shot to 3 lead at one stage but managed to score on only 1 more end and ended up going down by 24 shots to 19. Val Addison, Peggy White, Carol Jones and John Grindley struggled from the start and went down by 27 shots to 12.  Pat Hartigan, Jan Easlea, Shirley Stubbs and Ted West were also behind throughout and lost by 20 shots to 12.

The club were eliminated from the Egham Trophy by Victory Indoor Bowls Club from Portsmouth. 

The only Island winners were Trish McMurray, Maggie Lawley, Brian Taplin and Jack Berry who scored a convincing away success by 27 shots to 13 against Barry Starks rink, whilst the other away four of Margaret Carrett, Shirley Stubbs, Peter Furmidge and Ian Morey lost 24 shot to 13 against D. Smith’s rink.

The home rinks of Pauline Proud, Sue Green, Ron Leleux and Bob Mortlock and that of Phyl Fredericks, Steff Ball, John Pearce and Alan Cawdell went down by 22 shots to 16 and by 25 shots to 14 respectively against rinks skipped by John Biggs and Trevor Bailey. The overall win for Victory was by 84 shots to 70.

Article continues below this advertisement

Don’t miss another story! Get the Island’s latest news delivered straight to your inbox. Sign up to our daily newsletter here.

The views/opinions expressed in these comments are solely those of the author and do not represent those of Island Echo. House rules on commenting must be followed at all times.

Join our daily newsletter

News, Traffic & Travel Tweets