carclubThe sixth round of the Isle of Wight Car Club championship was held at the BAE Systems car park on earlier this month.

It was a blistering hot sunny day but not as hot as the drivers championship was getting. The competition getting closer and closer on times to where the difference in finishing position could be down to hundreds of a second…

First to set the pace was John Dutch in his mini with a time of  56.29 sec, closely followed by Will Thomas on a 57.23 sec, then Chris Greenen on 57.66 sec, then Andy Greenen on 58.58 sec , Mike Hughes on 59.52 sec , Wayne Hole on 59.60 sec .

Article continues below this advertisement


Run two saw many more drivers picking up the pace and as a result the leader boards was changing. This time Dave Goodwin put in a time of 53.89 sec and then Dan Morgan only 5 100th of a seconds behind him on a 53.94 sec , then Toby Allen on 56.53 sec , then Chris Greenen on 56.81 sec , Mike Hughes on 57.29 sec , Dereck Thomas on 57.38 sec.

As the event drew to a close, run six saw the top three drivers Dave Dutch, Andy Willliams and John Dutch unable to improve on there times but Dave Goodwin did with a 52.96 sec and also Toby Allen on 52.98 sec and then Chris Wilson on a 53.75 sec .

It was a very close competition for all the top drivers. But Dave Dutch managed a super time on his 5th run that was enough to give him his second win of the 2013 season.


Article continues below this advertisement

1st  Dave Dutch on 52.48 sec

2nd  Andy Williams on 52.64 sec

3rd  John Dutch on 52.91 sec

4th Dave Goodwin on 52.96 sec

5th  Toby Allen on 52.98 sec

6th Dan Morgan on 53.42 sec


Do you follow Island Echo on Facebook?
Get access to exclusive news, photos, videos and merchandise by becoming a supporter through Facebook Subscriptions! Find out more at

News, Traffic & Travel Tweets