pearlizumicylcingseries2The teams and riders for the 2015 Pearl Izumi Tour Series cycling event, which is to kick off in May on the streets of Ryde, have been announced this week.

The brand new Team WIGGINS formed by 2012 Tour de France winner Sir Bradley Wiggins and the ONE Pro Cycling team of England cricketer Matt Prior join the list of teams headlined by defending champions JLT Condor presented by Mavic, who hope to become the first squad to defend their Tour Series title.

Unfortunately for cycling fans Sir Bradley himself won’t be riding under UCI riles that prevent him from joining his team until June.

Article continues below this advertisement

Commenting on the announcement, Kellie Parsons, Marketing Director of Madison, Series sponsors with the Pearl Izumi brand said:

“This is our third year as title sponsor of the Pearl Izumi Tour Series. Last year’s Series was a huge success and the line-up of venues sets the tone for an exciting five weeks of racing.”

Competitors will tackle the opening round here on the Isle of Wight, with a tough uphill climb of Union Street which will shape the circuit that will play host to an opening team time trial and traditional circuit race.

David Thornton, CEO, Visit Isle of Wight said:

“Securing pole position of the prestigious Pearl Izumi Tour series – AND hosting the opening team time trial – is a major coup for the Island.

Article continues below this advertisement

“The Isle of Wight is the only place on the south coast where you can see the race and we look forward to welcoming visitors from Portsmouth, Southampton, the New Forest and further afield.  Not only will they be able to enjoy the thrills of the racing action, but also use it as a reason to stay over and embrace the unique atmosphere that a sporting event of this stature brings to an area”.

Alongside JLT Condor presented by Mavic, ONE Pro Cycling and Team WIGGINS, three further British registered UCI Continental teams will take part – Madison Genesis, NFTO Pro Cycling and Team Raleigh – GAC.

Three further non-UCI British teams will also enter the full Series, Pedal Heaven RT, SportGrub Kuota and Velosure Starley Primal, with a new trophy being inaugurated for the highest placed non-UCI team at the end of the Series.

Past winners of the unique, team based Pearl Izumi Tour Series are Team Halfords Bikehut (2009), Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta (2010), Rapha Condor Sharp (2011), Endura Racing (2012), Team UK Youth (2013) and Rapha Condor JLT (2014).

Don’t forget to follow the Island’s news as it happens…

News, Traffic & Travel Tweets