Ian Clark (002)


Smallbrook Stadium in Ryde will see a full-scale GT140 race meeting as 18 riders from around the country battle it out for the inaugural GT140 Island Masters Title on Tuesday 22nd August.

All 15 races will consist of 6 riders, who will each take 4 rides with accumulated points qualifying the participants for inclusion in either C, B or A Finals. T

The GT140 class – an off-shoot of conventional grass track racing – was launched in 2017 by Jed Rolph (who will be racing in the event) and has grown rapidly in popularity as racing costs are relatively modest and sit at affordable levels. Successful trials at Smallbrook have encouraged Wightlink Warriors co-owners Barry Bishop and Martin Widman to promote a full-scale meeting with the full backing of the NORA organisation.

Article continues below this advertisement

Speedway followers will be interested to see Island regular Chad Wirtzfeld taking on the cream of the class with 2023 British GT140 Grasstrack Champion Ian Clark (pictured) – formerly of the Peterborough Panthers – heading an exciting field that includes several riders at the top of the 2022 ACU grading list, not to mention Wayne and Max Broadhurst, Luke Tuck and Vinny Smith all of whom have had outings in various competitions on the Island this season.

The expected line should include Darren Sargeant, Thomas Wilding, Connor Sargeant, Mark Scopes, Vinny Smith, Jed Rolph, Adam Hawker, Ian Clark, Max Broadhurst, Kevin Gwillam, Chad Wirtzfeld, Lester Denham, Luke Tuck, Wayne Broadhurst, Luke Wicks, Richie Knight, Jordan Cross and Steve Newsham.

As usual, gates will open at 17:15, with the main event preceded at 18:15 with Youth speedway racing. The GT140s get underway at 19:00, and a training development match between the Wightlink Wizards and Carmarthen Dragons is integrated into the evening’s racing.

Don’t miss another story! Get the Island’s latest news delivered straight to your inbox. Sign up to our daily newsletter here.

Article continues below this advertisement
The views/opinions expressed in these comments are solely those of the author and do not represent those of Island Echo. House rules on commenting must be followed at all times.

Join our daily newsletter