Published at:
Bowls Sport

The Isle of Wight Bowls Club took on Witney Bowling Club earlier this month in the latest friendly game between the 2 sides, carrying on a traditional that dates back many years.

The game is now played for the Ralph Tooley Trophy, which is presented in memory and honour of Ralph following his death. Ralph was responsible by initiating the fixture and even when he was no longer able to participate in the game he always joined the team during the visit.

The Island club retained the Trophy by 133 shots to 75.  In the first game the rink of Terry Lidington, Simon Gibbs, Ted West and Barry Rodwell won 17 shots to 10. The quartet of Terry Humber, Mike Davidson, Craig Williams and Roy Jemson (Captain) enjoyed a 21 to 12 success, whilst a 1 shot defeat (17 – 18) was sustained by Bob Stubbs, Pat Hartigan, Bob Powell and Peter Furmidge.

Article continues below this advertisement

In the second game there was a 27 to 11 victory for Seamus Morris, John Hutchinson, Mike Bradford and Roy Jemson. The rink of John Grindley, Simon Gibbs, Ted West and Barry Rodwell had a 27 to 18 shot victory and George Stevens, Mike Davidson, Mark Morris and Peter Furmidge succeeded 21 shots to 10.

On Saturday (20th October), the club is to play the first round of this season’s top national competitions for both the men and ladies. 

The men take on Worthing in the Denny Cup in a match consisting of 2 home rinks and 2 away. The Ladies take on Dolphin of Poole in the same format for the Yetton Trophy.

The men’s team at home will consist of Simon New, Bertie Everson, Darren Griffith (Captain) Alan Cawdell, Andrew Nightingale, Richard Jeffery, Ian Morey and Bob Mortlock. Away the team will be made up of John Pearce, Ian Ball, Peter Furmidge, Ron Leleux, Ryan Trigg, Brian Wells, Paul Attrill and Jack Berry. Vernon Findell will umpire.

The Ladies team at home will be Sandra Atkins, Phyl Fredericks, Barbara Sleep, Sue Green, Ronnie Berry, Sandra Aldridge, Peggy Evans and Pauline Proud (Captain). Away will be Annie Morris, Steff Ball, Shirley Stubbs, Gay Allen, Judy Eynon, Jane Kilby, Carol Jones and Anne Bernard.

Article continues below this advertisement

The views/opinions expressed in these comments are solely those of the author and do not represent those of Island Echo. House rules on commenting must be followed at all times.
Football Betting Site Betway

News, Traffic & Travel Tweets