Alan Cawdell, Darren Griffith and Paul Dickinson in red/yellow shirts and opponent Lee Croad bowling


Bowls Sport

The rink of Alan Cawdell, Paul Dickinson, Darren Griffith and Jack Berry took on Lee Croad, Alan Geary, Chris Daniels and Ben Paulton of Bournemouth Club in the area final of the Men’s National Triples, the match taking place on the neutral green at Atherley. 

It was a match of fluctuating fortunes with the lead constantly interchanging between the 2 sides.

The Bournemouth quartet took a 3 shot lead after 7 ends. The Islanders then scored 8 shots without reply to take a 12 shots to 7 advantage but immediately conceded a 4 to allow the opposition back into the game which they enhanced by taking the next 2 ends to get a 3 shot lead. The Islanders then retook the advantage by scoring 7 shots without reply over the next 3 ends to take what appeared a positive 4 shot lead with only 2 ends left to play.

Article continues below this advertisement

Dropping a 4 on the penultimate end saw the scores all level playing the final end. A bowl on the jack by Croad was not removed by Berry’s rink and the Bournemouth side progressed to the National Finals.

Griffith enjoyed no better fortune in the area final of the Men’s National Two Woods. He took on Peter Ward of Five Rivers Club in a match played at the East Dorset Club.  Griffith never found the pace of the green and playing against an in form opponent went down by 21 shots to 7.

On Saturday (14th March), Alan Cawdell, Ian Morey and Bob Mortlock play against Barry Starks trio of Victory in the area final of the Men’s Over 50’s National Triples at Bournemouth.

Paul Dickinson bowling

Also this month… the Isle of Wight Indoor Bowls Cub took on the Isle of Wight Community Club in the second leg of this season’s Ralph Jenvey Trophy, retaining the team which took a substantial 40 shot advantage from the opening leg of the tie.

At the halfway stage they trailed by 18 shots. The home team continued to reduce the deficit and with each rink having one end left to play they only trailed by 3 shots. With 3 of the 4 home rinks taking shots on the final end they edged ahead to take the trophy by 3 shots overall.

Article continues below this advertisement

The club’s only winning rink was that of Pauline Proud, Steff Ball, John Carrett and Bob Mortlock who came home 21 shots to 14 winners over Derek Stephens rink. Anne Bernard, Margaret Carrett, Ian Ball and Roy Jemson went down by 22 shots to 15 against Myles Farrington’ s quartet.

The rink of Phyl Fredericks, Jane Kilby, Mark Morris and Ian Morey were defeated 27 shots to 8 by Martin Butchers foursome, whilst Annie Morris, Chris Morey, Ron Leleux and Peter  Furmidge were behind throughout against Fred Sly’s rink and lost by 31 shots to 7.

Don’t miss another story! Get the Island’s latest news delivered straight to your inbox. Sign up to our daily newsletter here.

Article continues below this advertisement
The views/opinions expressed in these comments are solely those of the author and do not represent those of Island Echo. House rules on commenting must be followed at all times.

Join our daily newsletter