MONSTER MEDWAY’S ‘LENIENT’ 14-YEAR SENTENCE TO BE REVIEWED

Published at:

A review into the sentencing of a child rapist from Freshwater is to take place as it has been claimed his 14-year sentence is simply ‘too lenient’.

62-year-old Graham Medway orally raped a 3-year-old girl at Fort Victoria Country Park in August 2020. He admitted the sickening assault and was sentenced to 14 years in prison for his horrendous crime – to serve 9 years behind bars and a further 5 years on licence.

However, the sentence passed down by Judge Roger Hetherington is to be reviewed as an application has been made for the sentence to be reconsidered, with a view to adding years on.

Article continues below this advertisement

The crime of the rape of a child under the age of 13 carries a possible maximum term of life imprisonment, but sentencing guidelines give a custody range of between 6 and 19 years.

A spokesperson for the Attorney General’s Office has said:

“We have received a request for the case of Graham Medway to be considered under the unduly lenient sentence scheme.

“The Law Officers have 28 days from sentencing to consider the case.”

The life sentence of fellow Freshwater paedophile Jonathan Richard Maertens, handed down by Judge Tim Mousley, is also being reviewed. 35-year-old Maertens was ordered to serve a minimum of 16 years.

Article continues below this advertisement

The views/opinions expressed in these comments are solely those of the author and do not represent those of Island Echo. House rules on commenting must be followed at all times.
guest
10 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Banner
Banner
6 days ago

Triple it…. then add some more.

Pepe
Pepe
6 days ago

Should also review some of the Rotherham scum sentences as well.

Mr Mark
Mr Mark
Reply to  Pepe
6 days ago

Pepe how right you are. We are ONLY allowed to comment on the likes of Hindley, Saville etc, who are vile house-hold names to all, but thankfully such Brits are rare compared, whilst those ‘who can’t ever’ be mentioned are unknown names and faces to us, as so many in number now, as several gangs into this, and their names oft unpronounceable . The clearly biased media like the BBC drop such stories asap when these sort are involved, which they invariably are now, whereas IF it had been w hite men doing such to their children, the BBC would… Read more »

Last edited 6 days ago by Mr Mark
Opinions dont matter
Opinions dont matter
6 days ago

This monster should never be released from prison!!!!! As long he is in prison,children are safe from him..

Last edited 6 days ago by Opinions dont matter
Amanda-Ghosts
Amanda-Ghosts
6 days ago

Time to change this flawed system. Simply we could change it so the JUDGE oversees the proceedings and then informs the JURY of the minimum term AND the maximum term for offences. Then, they, the JURY decide on the length and terms of punishment, and and AVEAGE of their decision is used to finalise the term by the judge. That way, it is fair, as it is not just ‘one’ person deciding the fate of the guilty, AND it would prevent hardened Judges or Judges who may have similar thoughts and thus some sympathy giving too weak a sentence. This… Read more »

Old bean
Old bean
6 days ago

Hang the bastard

Chad_Mullun
Chad_Mullun
Reply to  Old bean
6 days ago

The preferred solution, but, sadly we gave that up, in RETURN for ‘life’ sentences, but, since importing the worlds finest, LIFE can no longer be given as our jails full to bursting, hence we are, where we sadly are.

The very least they could do is remove all male s ex drive components, and more, ensuring it has to sit to wee until it’s hopeful sooner rather than later natural death day.

I would smear CV in his tea if I were a warder and could do so.

YIGAF
YIGAF
6 days ago

This guys mindset will never be cured. As long as he breathes he was,is and always will be a danger to children . Needs to stay inside for life. It’s the only sentence that he deserves that can be handed down. Unfortunately that’s the maximum our weak law system allows.

iow mad
iow mad
6 days ago

bring back the death penalty for all sex crimes and murderers !

JHVF
JHVF
6 days ago

What stupid guide lines allowed such a pathetic sentence in the first place, I’m giving the Judge the benefit of doubt for the moment.

Football Betting Site Betway
 

Join our daily newsletter

News, Traffic & Travel Tweets