The Island’s sporting community came together at Medina Theatre last night (Thursday) for the annual Isle of Wight Sports Foundation awards.

Over 20 awards were presented by Lord Grade of Yarmouth, recognising the achievements of a wide range of Island athletes, teams and supporters.

The oldest recipient of an award was Shirley Miles of West Wight Sport & Community Centre (pictured), who was recognised for her services to sport.

Article continues below this advertisment

Award winners 2017:

  • Junior Boys – Sponsored by The Royal Yacht Squadron
    Nicholas Matthews (Golf) – Newport Golf Club
  • Junior Girls – Sponsored by Love Running
    Amelie Haworth (Squash) – Isle of Wight Squash Academy
  • Intermediate Boys – Sponsored by The Sports Shop
    Louis Wrenn (Hockey) – Ryde School
  • Intermediate Girls –  Sponsored by Bembridge Harbour Authority
    Temeesha Hobbs (Table Tennis) – Isle of Wight Table Tennis Association
  • Senior Men – Sponsored by Steve Porter Transport 
    Chezerae Nihell (Boxing) – Army Boxing Team
  • Senior Women – Sponsored by BCM 
    Jemma Toms (Shooting) – Carisbrooke Rifle Club
  • Disability Juniors – Sponsored by Esplanade
    Zac Lacey (Swimming) – Seaclose Swimming Club
  • Disability Seniors Men – Sponsored by Esplanade
    Aaron Danvers-Jukes (Kungfu) – The Marsta
  • Disability Seniors Women – Sponsored by Esplanade 
    Fran Holdsworth (Walking/climbing) – West Wight Sport & Community  Centre
  • Men’s Masters – Sponsored by The Esplanade
    Richard Wilson (Shooting) – Shanklin Rifle and Pistol Club
  • Women’s Masters – Sponsored by Spence Willard
    Liz Dunlop (Triathlon) – Wight-Tri
  • Intermediate Team – Sponsored by Bembridge Sailing Club
    Vectis Rugby Football Club U16 Team
  • Senior Team – Sponsored by Moore Stephens
    Novice Ryde Rowing Club Ladies (Rowing) – Ryde Rowing Club
  • National/International Sportsperson – Sponsored by Harwoods of Yarmouth 
    Jess Martin (Running) – Isle of Wight Athletic Club
  • Junior Sporting School – Sponsored by The Garlic Farm
    Hunnyhill Primary School
  • Senior Sporting School – Sponsored by The Delphie Lakeman Trust
    St George’s School (Secondary Special)
  • Coach – Sponsored by Glanvilles
    Kirsty Cook (Running) – Cowes Women’s Running Group
  • Volunteer – Sponsored by Inshape Fitness Studio
    Joy Furmidge (Running) – Medina Isle of Wight Parkrun
  • Club Official – Sponsored by Rouse Ltd
    Anthony Elgar (Shooting) – Shanklin Rifle & Pistol Club
  • Service to Sport – Sponsored by PhysioCare & Sports Injury Clinic
    Shirley Miles (Swimming) – West Wight Sport & Community Centre
  • Isle of Wight Sports Foundation Award
    Team Moss (Shooting) – Shanklin Rifle and Pistol Club

Comment on this story

News, Traffic & Travel Tweets