Img-20220605-wa0007 (1)[14257]
Shanklin Sandown Men's Senior 4


Shanklin Sandown Rowing Club enjoyed stunning success at their own regatta with 8 victories to take the Victor Ludorum Shield on Sunday (5th June).

Daisy and Emily Faithfull won for the 2nd time this season in the Ladies’ Senior pairs as did Kayleigh Batchelor and Yas Wright in the Ladies’ Junior. Daisy and Kayleigh also took the top 2 spots in the Ladies’ Senior sculls, with Faithfull securing a narrow victory over her clubmate. The Island club claimed victory in the Ladies Novice sculls race, in which another tight finish saw Rachael Debenham win by half-a-length.

Img-20220515-wa0014 (1) (1)[14256]
Daisy and Emily Faithfull
The Men’s Novice 4 of Arlo Adds, Ben Smith, John Langborne, Ollie Hatch and Daisy Faithfull (cox) also won convincingly. The crew lead from the start and achieved by a comfortable 4 lengths. The crew have now been promoted to Coastal Junior status.

Article continues below this advertisement

The regatta saw the return to competitive action of Alex Robertson and Joe Evans-Murray, who secured an excellent runners-up spot in the Men’s senior pairs and formed a scratch Senior 4 with Ethan Walters & Fred Giemza-Pipe to take 3rd spot on the podium. Evans-Murray enjoyed an excellent regatta and return to competitive rowing by taking the runners-up spot in the Men’s Senior sculls.

The club’s Junior squad again dominated the Junior events by winning all 3: the J16 boys and girls and the Boys J14. The club’s 2nd J14 crew of Evie Crew, Poppy Lawrence, Immy Burfitt, Izzy Bounds, and Daisy Faithfull (cox) finished an excellent 3rd in their first-ever race.

Shanklin Sandown Rowing Club travel to Swanage for the 5th regatta of the season this weekend.

Don’t miss another story! Get the Island’s latest news delivered straight to your inbox. Sign up to our daily newsletter here.

Article continues below this advertisement

The views/opinions expressed in these comments are solely those of the author and do not represent those of Island Echo. House rules on commenting must be followed at all times.

Join our daily newsletter

News, Traffic & Travel Tweets