Local Community News


More than 70 young people received Duke of Edinburgh (DofE) awards at an annual ceremony in Newport on Thursday night.

The event took place at the Isle of Wight College and saw 71 Islanders receive their awards from the Lord-Lieutenant of Isle of Wight, Major General Martin White.

Guests were welcomed by Lee Matthews, DofE Manager for the Island. He thanked the Lord Lieutenant Major General Martin White, who presented the Awards, for his fantastic support.

Article continues below this advertisment

Carol Taverner, DofE Facilitator pointed out that the DofE Award has been inspiring young people since 1956. She added the scheme is tailored to the individual needs of those taking part. Additionally, Carol said that the students are helped by a large number of parents/carers and volunteer group leaders.

Most of those receiving Awards shared their experiences of gaining skills, helping in the community, physical activities and expedition undertaking with the audience of families and group leaders.

3 young women were the recipients of Gold Awards. They were presented with their badges and will receive their certificates at a ceremony at a royal palace sometime in the future from a member of the Royal Family. All 3 worked for their Awards via Island Innovations Sixth Form, Newport however 2 had commenced their awards whilst with 2nd Ryde Sea Scouts.

Amelia Rusling included learning to drive, undertaking a Tall Ships voyage from Falmouth to London and volunteering with the Sea Cadets amongst her successes. After taking her A-Level exams Amelia went on a 2-year travelling experience including Australia, the South of France and Italy. Although she had gained her award some time ago it was only now that she was free from her busy schedule to receive her award and commence her university course.

Hannah Mary-Gale remembered her camping experience in the Brecon Beacons when she awoke to discover frost on the surface of her tent. She also undertook the N.C.S. Challenge which involved a residency in Swanage. Now Hannah is hoping to study maths at Bath University.

Moza Ackroyd studied mine workings and geology whilst on her expedition and undertook a residency at Edinburgh University. She now plans to study Physics at University.

A Long Service award was handed to DofE volunteer Pam Johnson for her 20 years of voluntary duty – 12 of them on the Island.

Natalie Woods was given a special award for taking over the running of Newport Open Award Centre whilst Carol Taverner was indisposed last year. By a strange twist of fate Natalie is now on crutches following an unfortunate accident in the Brecon Beacons whilst undertaking DofE volunteering.

Major General Martin White, the Island’s Lord Lieutenant, congratulated all those receiving awards and encouraged everyone to continue with volunteering with Island charities saying that the Island community would be a much poorer place to live if it was not for the volunteers here.

Silver Award winners

Hannah Baker Island Innovations Mike Flannery 2nd Ryde Sea Scouts
Anna Marillier Island Innovations Jacob Saddington 2nd Ryde Sea Scouts
Elys Norman Island Innovations Thomas Gibbs Newport Open Award Centre
Raife Smith Isle of Wight College Eleanor Kenney Newport Open Award Centre
Brandon Parish Isle of Wight College Susana Wheeler Newport Open Award Centre
Daniel Clark Isle of Wight College Mhari Webb Newport Open Award Centre
Hannah Miskin Isle of Wight College Guy Summerson Newport Open Award Centre

Bronze Award winners

Daniel Ashdown Cowes Open Award Centre Scarlet Cranham Island Innovations James Short Newport Open Award Centre
Nita Blake Cowes Open Award Centre Samuel Kenney Island Innovations Nick Spencer Newport Open Award Centre
Brandon Ford    Cowes Open Award Centre Tom Rowe Island Innovations Robert Clark Newport Open Award Centre
Wojciech Magier Cowes Open Award Centre Orly Simon Waugh Island Innovations Alex Dancy Newport Open Award Centre
Clarice Johnson-Flux     Cowes Open Award Centre James Wright Island Innovations Fraser Kay Newport Open Award Centre
Jennifer Markham Cowes Open Award Centre Caitlin Smith Island Innovations Alex Dancy Newport Open Award Centre
Louisa Teatherton Cowes Open Award Centre Samuel Daffern Isle of Wight College Andy Cross St. George’s School
Annie Tyson Cowes Open Award Centre Daniel Baldock Isle of Wight College Anton Chamberlain St. George’s School
Treeve White Cowes Open Award Centre Jack Hume-Speed Isle of Wight College Sasha Elliott St. George’s School
Rachel Wood Cowes Open Award Centre Katy Boden Isle of Wight College Tarren Rockall St. George’s School
Terrie Ford Challenge & Adventure Alexander Tappenden Isle of Wight College Luke Roe St. George’s School
Charley Harris   Challenge & Adventure Cameron O’Kane Isle of Wight College Daniel Trinder St. George’s School
Cameron Barnes Island Learning Centre Caleb Cooper Isle of Wight College Jamie White St. George’s School
Joshua Logan Island Learning Centre Preya Wynn Isle of Wight College Ellie Lovett Sandown Bay Academy
William Scovell Island Learning Centre Michael Archer Isle of Wight College John Stirling Sandown Bay Academy
Natasha Habens Island Learning Centre Ashley Jude Isle of Wight College Heather Kingsman West Wight Sports Centre
Isaac Broome Priory School Joseph Mowle West Wight Sports Centre
  Ruby Boyd-Kerr Priory School Alex Parsloe West Wight Sports Centre

Anyone aged 14 to 24 can enrol on the DofE scheme. To do so, they should email: [email protected].

Report by Alan and Suzanne Whitewood with additional from Isle of Wight Council

Comment on this story

News, Traffic & Travel Tweets