Speedway Sport


With a 12 point home defeat still fresh in their memories, the Wightlink Warriors speedway team travelled to Eastbourne to contest the return fixture, knowing that the Eagles boasted an impressive unbeaten home record at fortress Arlington.

With Chris Widman still missing because of work requirements and Adam Portwood giving prior notice of his unavailability for this date, Warriors used the Rider Replacement facility for the former whilst Jamie Bursill stepped into Portwood’s number 7 slot.

Additionally, with new team averages in force, the Island side were forced to shuffle their riding order with James Cockle moving up to the number 1 jacket – a move that hardly fazed the skipper as he went on to top score with 12 well won points. Ben Wilson, now riding at number 3, battled hard for 9 whilst Connor Coles suffered a torrid night of falls and mechanical problems to total just 3.

Article continues below this advertisment

With the dialled-in Eagles winning 12 races, the hard working Warriors were inevitably going to come up short as the home side cemented a play-off position.

Eastbourne 57 Isle of Wight 33

Eagles: Jake Knight 12, Rider Replacement for Georgie Wood, Josh Bailey 15, Charley Powell 9+1, Tom Brennan 9, William O’Keefe 2, Mattie Bates 10+3, Steven Whitehouse (No.8) DNR
Warriors: James Cockle 12, Rider Replacement for Chris Widman, Ben Wilson 9, Scott Campos 5+1, Connor Coles 3, Jamie Sealey 3, Jamie Bursill 1, Luke Whitehead (No.8) 0

Next up for the Warriors is the penultimate home league meeting of the season at the Andrew Younie Smallbrook Stadium against Mildenhall on Thursday (7th September) at 19:00.

Comment on this story

News, Traffic & Travel Tweets