The final shale track action of 2021 at the Smallbrook Stadium in Ryde takes place this Tuesday and the third and final round of the Island Masters series is sure to have fans on the edge of their seats. 

With 12 qualifying heats, C B & A Finals plus a ‘winner-takes-all’ Super Final there is bound to be an all-out assault on the generous prize pot put up by meeting sponsors Foxbury Motors and Grasstrack Banter Promotions, and that charge will be led by Round 1 winner Andrew Appleton (pictured) and Round 2 victor James Wright.

In fact, 11 of the overall top scorers are back to contest the meeting with the 12th and final place being filled by former British Grasstrack Champion James Shanes, fresh from his latest attempt at the national title.

Article continues below this advertisement

Wightlink Warriors co-owner Barry Bishop said:

“This meeting is one heck of a way to complete our Summer Spectacular series with a fantastic line-up of grasstrack stars mixed with some great spoilers. I have absolutely no idea how things will pan out, however the Super Final will undoubtedly be something special and I can’t wait.

“I must say we’ve had incredible support from the grasstrack community with Ben Ilsley acting as a superb co-ordinator.

“As always, we will have support races for the Pee Wee and 125cc riders in addition to which our Wightlink Wizards take on Crayford Kestrels in a six heat mini-match so I would urge everyone to come to Smallbrook for the final time in 2021, enjoy some special action and see the season out with a bang.”

The Island Masters line-up in draw order: Barry Coates, Chad Wirtzfeld, Andrew Appleton, Charley Powell, James Wright, James Shanes, Ben Phillips, Rob Fortune, Nigel Coates, Eric Pike, Edward Kennett, Dean Cutler.

Article continues below this advertisement

Aggregate scores are calculated on a point’s basis with round winners awarded 12 points down to 12th place with 1 point. After 2 rounds the aggregate scores are:

Andrew Appleton 20, Tony Atkin 19, Chad Wirtzfeld 18, Rob Fortune 16, James Wright 12, Nigel Coates 11, Jacob Bukhave 11, Edward Kennett 11, Eric Pike 9, Charley Powell 7, Mitch Godden 6, Dean Cutler 6, Ben Phillips 4, Barry Coates 3, David Hollingsbee 2, Bill Haynes 1.

Don’t miss another story! Get the Island’s latest news delivered straight to your inbox. Sign up to our daily newsletter here.

Article continues below this advertisement
The views/opinions expressed in these comments are solely those of the author and do not represent those of Island Echo. House rules on commenting must be followed at all times.

Join our daily newsletter

News, Traffic & Travel Tweets