Bowls Sport

The new Isle of Wight Indoors Bowls winter season has got underway with all the various leagues commencing and the first fixture against other clubs having taken place.

2 matches were played against Witney Bowling Club, who have been regular visitors to the club for many years. The home club won both matches, winning the first by 30 shots and the follow up game by 16 shots.  In the first game the quartet of Seamus Morris, John Hutchinson, Mike Bradford and Paul Green ran out conclusive 28 shots to 12 victors.

The rink of Len Adams, Mike Davidson, Mark Morris and Roy Jemson enjoyed a 27 shots to 15 success, whilst the four of Bob Stubbs, Terry Humber, Simon Gibbs and Barry Rodwell edged home 24 shots to 22.  In the second match Len Adams, John Hutchinson, Paul Green and Peter Furmidge scored a comfortable 29 shots to 10 win.  There was also a victory for Gary Rodger, Alan Bugby, Ted West and Roy Jemson by 22 shots to 17.  Witney recorded  their only win by 25 shots to 17 against Phil Oland, Bernie Allen, Ian Ball and Simon Gibbs.

Article continues below this advertisement

On Saturday 19th October at 10:15 the men play Worthing Pavillion I.B.C. in the first round of the Denny Cup.  The team selected is HOME Simon New, Bertie Everson, Darren Griffith (Captain), Jack Berry, John Pearce, Richard Jeffery, Ian Morey and Bob Mortlock.  AWAY Ryan Trigg, Ian Ball, Peter Furmidge, Ron Leleux, Paul Attrill, Mark Morris, Brian Taplin and Alan Cawdell.

On the same day, at 10:30, the ladies take on Bannister Park I.B.C. in the first round of the Yetton Trophy. The team is HOME Phyl Fredericks, Sandra Adkins, Ann Hoath, Sue Green, Tricia McMurray, Shirley Searle, Moira Steven and Pauline Proud(Captain)  AWAY Annie Morris, Steff Ball, Maggie Lawley, Gay Allen, Margaret Carrett, Jane Kilby, Barbara Sleep and Anne Bernard.

The club have been drawn away against Bournemouth I.B.C. in the first round of the Top Club which is a mixed competition. John Pearce and Anne Bernard play in the Mens and Ladies Singles respectively.  Gay Allen and Ian Morey play the pairs.  In the triples Annie Morris, Peter Furmidge and Bob Mortlock have been selected and in the fours it is Pauline Proud, Maggie Lawley, Ron Leleux and Jack Berry.

Don’t miss another story! Get the Island’s latest news delivered straight to your inbox. Sign up to our daily newsletter here.

Article continues below this advertisement

The views/opinions expressed in these comments are solely those of the author and do not represent those of Island Echo. House rules on commenting must be followed at all times.

Join our daily newsletter

News, Traffic & Travel Tweets