Published at:
Bowls Sport

The first of this seasons Men’s and the Ladies Indoor National Bowls Competitions for clubs got underway at the weekend, with the Men playing Worthing in the Denny Cup and the Ladies taking on the Dolphin Club from Poole in the Yetton Trophy.

The Men’s team reached the 2nd round with an 82 shots to 54 win, in a game which they led from the early stages and built upon as the match proceeded.

Both rinks playing at home won. The quad of Simon New, Bertie Everson, Darren Griffith and Alan Cawdell played very well to win conclusively by 27 shots to 9 against a rink skipped by Mick Howard. The quartet of Andrew Nightingale, Richard Jeffery, Ian Morey and Bob Mortlock led all the way to record a 23 shots to 14 win over Stuart Shwartz’s four.

Article continues below this advertisement

Away from home the rink of Ryan Trigg, Brian Wells, Paul Attrill and Jack Berry scored an excellent 10 shot win by 19 shots to 9 against John Rose’s four. The other away four of John Pearce, Ian Ball, Peter Furmidge and Ron Leleux went down by 13 shots to 22 against Richard Dray’s rink.

On 3rd November the opponents will be Worthing Pavillion.

The Ladies team did not fare as well and lost by 50 shots to 89. Dolphin were dominant and won on all 4 rinks, although 2 of the rink games were close throughout.

At home the quartet of Ronnie Berry, Auriol Ash, Ann Hoath and Pauline Proud lost by only a single shot going down 14 shots to 15 to P. Cresswell’s rink, whilst Sandra Adkins, Phyl Fredericks, Sandra Aldridge and Sue Green went down by 10 shots to 33 to I. Howard’s four.

Playing away Annie Morris, Steff Ball, Shirley Stubbs and Gay Allen were involved in a close game and only went down by 12 shots to 16 against J. Keaks rink. An 11 shots to 25 defeat was sustained by Judy Eynon, Jane Kilby, Carol Jones and Anne Bernard against A. Warners four.

Article continues below this advertisement

They now play Palmerston on the 3rd November in the Yetton Plate, a National competition for all first round Yetton Trophy defeated clubs.

On Sunday 28th October at 10:30, the club take on Palmerston of Fareham  in the 1st Round of the Egham Trophy, a National Club Competition for mixed teams.  The team selected is HOME  Sandra Adkins, Sue Green, John Pearce, Alan Cawdell, Pauline Proud, Phyl Fredericks, Ian Morey and Bob Mortlock. AWAY – Annie Morris, Gay Allen, Paul Attrill, Jack Berry, Anne Bernard, Carol Jones, Peter Furmidge and Ron Leleux.

The views/opinions expressed in these comments are solely those of the author and do not represent those of Island Echo. House rules on commenting must be followed at all times.
Football Betting Site Betway

News, Traffic & Travel Tweets