Stock image


Published at:
Bowls Sport

The Isle of Wight Bowls Club crashed out of the first round of the Egham Trophy when they were defeated by Palmerston of Hampshire.

The first 15 ends of the match were close throughout but Palmerston took advantage in the final quarter of the game to record victory by 81 shots to 67.

Playing at home the rink of Sue Green, Sandra Atkin, John Pearce and Alan Cawdell held the advantage for most of the game but Spence Lloyd’s four came back strongly. A score of 5 on the last end saw them grab an 18 all draw.

Article continues below this advertisement

At home the quartet of Phyl Fredericks, Pauline Proud, Ian Morey and Bob Mortlock went 10 shots adrift against a rink skipped by P. Gentry. They came back well and from a 10 shot deficit going in to the final third of the game only went down 21-19.

Playing away the team of Annie Morris, Gay Allen, Paul Attrill and Jack Berry were in close touch after 15 ends but then dropped 7 shots in the next 3 ends before going down 21-17 to C. Friend’s rink. Also away the quartet of Anne Bernard, Steff Ball, Peter Furmidge and Ron Leleux were behind from the early stages and did not recover, going down by 21 shots to 13.

In the first round of the Ladies National ‘Champion of Champions’ Gay Allen played away against Beryl Blacklin of Warners Lakeside Club – Hayling Island. Allen looked on the way to an easy win as she needed only 1 more shot when she led by 20 shots to 6. Her opponent came back strongly and took 10 shots over the next few ends to reduce the deficit to 20 shots to 16.  Allen then took the next end to go through to the next round by 21-16.

Allen was also successful in the first round of the national mixed pairs. Joined by Jack Berry they enjoyed an emphatic 25 to 6 shot home win against Elaine Clark and Tom Pullen of Victory Club, Portsmouth in game conceded with 5 ends still to play.

In the second round of the Denny Cup, to be played on Saturday 3rd November at 10:00, the Men take on Worthing Pavillion. The team selected is HOME Ryan Trigg, Simon New, Darren Griffith, Alan Cawdell, Andrew Nightingale, Richard Jeffery, Ian Morey and Bob Mortlock.  AWAY John Pearce, Ian Ball, Peter Furmidge, Ron Leleux, Paul Attrill, Brian Wells,  Allen Best and Jack Berry.

Article continues below this advertisement

The Ladies also play on Saturday, at 10:30, in the Yetton Plate a competition for first round losers in the Yetton Trophy. The team selected is HOME Phyl Fredericks,  Sandra Adkins, Anne Hoath, Sue Green, Ronnie Berry, Auriol Ash, Peggy Evans and Pauline Proud. AWAY Annie Morris, Stef Ball, Shirley Stubbs, Gay Allen, Jane Kilby, Judy Eynon, Val Addison and Anne Bernard.

On Tuesday 6th November at 13:30 the Men take on Palmerston in the first round of the Over 60’s double rink competition. The team selected is HOME Alan Cawdell, Richard Jeffery, Ian Morey and Bob Mortlock. AWAY John Wilkins, Phil Brooks,  Peter Furmidge and Ron Leleux.

The views/opinions expressed in these comments are solely those of the author and do not represent those of Island Echo. House rules on commenting must be followed at all times.
Football Betting Site Betway

News, Traffic & Travel Tweets