Bowls Sport

The Isle of Wight Indoor Bowls Club has handed over a cheque for £834 to the Hampshire and Isle of Wight Air Ambulance.

Funds have been raised for the charity after it was selected as the charity of choice by Club Captain Roy Jemson.

Recently, volunteer Pat Knight from HIOWAA attended a cheese and wine social evening at the club on Brading Road, Ryde – an event attended by many club members. Pat gave an informative and interesting talk on the work of the air ambulance before a cheque for £834.45 was handed over by Roy Jemson.

Article continues below this advertisement

In competitive action… for the first time, the club took part in National Top Club competition in which they played an away tie against Bournemouth Indoor Bowls Club.

It was the home team who dominated to win 4 of the 5 games to record a 12 points to 4 victory and get through to the next round. The only winners for the Island team were the rink of Pauline Proud, Maggie Lawley, Ron Leleux and Jack Berry who ran out conclusive victors by 35 shots to 4.  John Pearce and Anne Bernard went down in the two wood mens and ladies singles respectively, whilst Gay Allen and Ian Morey were beaten in the pairs. The triple of Annie Morris, Peter Furmidge and Bob Mortlock met the same fate.

This weekend the ladies play East Dorset Indoor Bowls Club in the first round of the Mason Trophy. The HOME rink is Trish McMurray, Shirley Searle, Moira Steven and Pauline Proud. AWAY Annie Morris, Barbara Sleap, Stef Ball and Maggie Lawley.

Meanwhile, the Men play Arun Indoor Bowls Club in the 2nd round of the Denny Cup. The team selected is HOME Simon New, Bertie Everson,  Paul Dickinson, Darren Griffith, John Pearce, Richard Jeffery, Ian Morey and Bob Mortlock.  AWAY Ryan Trigg, Ian Ball, Peter Furmidge, Ron Leleux, Steve Crockett,  Mark Morris, Brian Taplin and Alan Cawdell.

The ladies take on Bournemouth Indoor Bowls Club in the 2nd round of the Yetton Trophy. Team selected is HOME Phyl Fredericks, Sandra Adkins,  Ann Hoath, Sue Green, Tricia McMurray, Shirley Searle, Moira Steven and Pauline Proud  AWAY Margaret Carrett, Jane Kilby, Carol Jones,  Shirley Stubbs, Annie Morris, Jane Swinfield,  Steff Ball and Maggie Lawley.

Article continues below this advertisement

The 1st round of the Men’s Over 60’s national competition takes place on Tuesday 5th November with the “A” team taking on Palmerston “A” in a match commencing at noon and the “B” team playing Palmerston “B” in a game starting at 13:30. The “A” team is HOME Alan Cawdell, Brian Taplin, Ian Morey and Bob Mortlock AWAY Richard Jeffery, John Attrill, Peter Furmidge and Ron Leleux.  The “B” team is HOME Ian Ball, John Carrett, Jeremy Baker-Dean and John Pearce. AWAY Simon Gibbs, Mark Morris, Steve Crockett and Roy Jemson.

Don’t miss another story! Get the Island’s latest news delivered straight to your inbox. Sign up to our daily newsletter here.

The views/opinions expressed in these comments are solely those of the author and do not represent those of Island Echo. House rules on commenting must be followed at all times.

Join our daily newsletter

News, Traffic & Travel Tweets